Pop culture nostalgia

the_ocI think just about everyone has some kind of pop culture nostalgia. We all spend time thinking back fondly to books, movies, music and TV shows that we loved when we were young, despite how bad they might have been. There seems to be a certain rose-tinted glow for those of us who were shaped by the pop culture of yore. Here are some pop culture nostalgia’s that I’ve been experiencing lately…

1. The O.C. (pictured above) is one of those TV shows that had a super dedicated fan base who waited each week for the next episode. This super dedicated fan base is now in their early, mid and late twenties, and make a huge deal of talking about this show. But why? Isn’t it largely a direct copy of the oldie but goodie Beverly Hills 90210? It’s because, in my opinion, because of the music. The O.C. featured a number of musicians and bands with small groups of diehard fans, and brought them from relative obscurity to mainstream popular culture. Bands like The Killers, Modest Mouse, Death Cab for Cutie, Rooney and The Walkmen were all featured playing at the Bait Shop. Phantom Planet’s piano ballad, “California,” became the theme song and dramatically increased the band’s visibility. Coupled with the show also came six different audio mixes, each with music played during the season. I don’t know about you, but whenever I hear the Youth Group version of “Forever Young,” I automatically imagine Ryan and Marissa dancing by the pool.

2. As a pre-teen, I was obsessed with the Dear America books. Throughout my early adolesence I spent a ton of time reading historical fiction, and these books were staples. They were amazing, smooth hardcovers, each with an attached ribbon bookmark. The books themselves were divided in diary-like chapters, each from the first-person perspective of a different girl from history. The girls were diverse and interesting, but now as I look back, the books weren’t that great. They were largely based in stereotypes of the times they were set in, which was okay for when I was a kid. I’m not sure if I read the books now, I’d find them as charming as I did when I was a kid.

3. Did you guys watch this year’s Academy Awards? Lady Gaga performed this amazing medley of songs from The Sound of Music and reminded people that she can actually sing. Then, when you think it’s all over, Julie freakin’ Andrews came out, hugged Lady Gaga for a very long time and they both cry. I found myself crying because, duh, The Sound of Music brings back the most wonderful memories for me–watching the movie over and over with my sisters, spinning around in a Liesl-esque dress when she dances in the gazebo with Rolf (ugh, Rolf!) and singing the beautiful songs non-stop. I loved this performance because it made me forget about NBC’s embarrassing live version starring Carrie Underwood as Maria von Trapp. Who knew that it would take Lady Gaga to remind me of the timelessness of this amazing piece of culture.

Do you have any pop culture nostalgia? Tell me below!

Leave a Reply

