Why haven’t I watched “Friday Night Lights”?

FNL

I haven’t been posting a lot this week because…all I’m doing is bingeing on Friday Night Lights on Netflix! Why haven’t I ever watched this show?! I’ll tell you why: it’s because I think football is boring. I assumed a TV show about football would be just as boring as I find football.

I was wrong.

Friday Night Lights is less of a show about football and more about the people in Dillon, Texas. The show really captures what it’s like to be a teenager–like Matt’s awkward fumbling with Julie and the intensity of Lyla and Jason’s on-again, off-again relationship after his accident–but it also really captures what it’s like to be an adult. The stories are full of really tough decisions for the adults in the show. Tyra’s mother is one of the best examples–she kicks out her abusive boyfriend, but then really struggles with the decision that she made because she got used to having someone pay the bills and in general, take care of her.

I’ve just finished the first season–in, like, four days (woof!)–and am excited to keep watching. Mostly because of Tim Riggins because, I mean…

timriggins

Are there any other old school gems that I’m missing because of my prejudice against sports? Tell me below!

Leave a Reply

