CBS’s new “Supergirl” looks incredible–take a peek here

In the same vein as yesterday, I thought I’d carry out the superhero theme into the weekend. Have you guys seen the incredible new first look of the CBS show Supergirl? The show appears to have largely maintained the comic backstory of Supergirl, but I’m a little worried about the execution of the show.

Before I start, I want to be clear that I am really looking forward to watching this show. I want strong female characters on TV–not just strong personalities, but strong. This Supergirl can lift a car and fly? Cool.

What I’m worried about is the weird romantic comedy way the first look starts. The Internet is abuzz that the trailer looks like that goofy Black Widow trailer from SNL. And parts of it do–the fashion magazine job, the vaguely Miranda Priestley-esque job, the romance with the handsome colleague.

If the show is a tiny bit romantic comedy and mostly about a girl who is struggling with her identity and her responsibilities, it has the potential to be really great. If not…well…bye, Supergirl.

Supergirl premiers on CBS this fall.

Leave a Reply

